One of the more interesting features of the new legislation is the attempt that has been made to define and classify Crown corporations,* The Act defines a Crown corporation as a corporation that is ultimately accountable, through a Minister, to Parliament for the conduct of its affairs and establishes three classes of corporation; departmental, agency and proprietary.

Departmental Corporations.—A departmental corporation is defined as a Crown corporation that is a servant or agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada and is responsible for administrative, supervisory or regulatory services of a governmental nature. Ten departmental corporations are listed in Schedule B to the Act:-

Agricultural Prices Support Board Atomic Energy Control Board Canadian Maritime Commission Director of Soldier Settlement The Director, The Veterans' Land Act Dominion Coal Board Fisheries Prices Support Board National Gallery of Canada National Research Council Unemployment Insurance Commission.

Agency Corporations.—An agency corporation is defined as a Crown corporation that is an agent of Her Majesty in right of Canada and is responsible for the management of trading or service operations on a quasi-commercial basis or for the management of procurement, construction or disposal activities on behalf of Her Majesty in right of Canada. The following agency corporations are listed in Schedule C to the Financial Administration Act or have been subsequently added to that Schedule by the Governor in Council:-

Atomic Energy of Canada Limited Canadian Arsenals Limited Canadian Commercial Corporation Canadian Patents and Development Limited Crown Assets Disposal Corporation Defence Construction (1951) Limited Federal District Commission National Battlefields Commission

Northwest Territories Power Commission (now Northern Canada Power Commission) National Harbours Board

Park Steamship Company Limited.

Two corporations, Canadian Sugar Stabilization Corporation Limited and Commodity Prices Stabilization Corporation Limited, listed in Schedule C when the Financial Administration Act was proclaimed, have since discontinued operations and surrendered their charters. By an Order in Council of June 15, 1955, the name of the Northwest Territories Power Commission (now Northern Canada Power Commission) was deleted from Schedule D and added to Schedule C effective Apr. 1, 1954.

Proprietary Corporations.—A proprietary corporation is defined as a Crown corporation that (1) is responsible for the management of lending or financial operations, or for the management of commercial or industrial operations involving the production of or dealing in goods and the supplying of services to the public, and (2) is ordinarily required

^{*}Not all Crown corporations are subject to the provisions of the Financial Administration Act. For example, the Canadian Wheat Board, the Bank of Canada and its subsidiary, the Industrial Development Bank, because of the special nature of their functions, are excluded from operations of the Crown corporations Part of the Act and are governed by their own Acts of incorporation, as are such joint enterprises of the Federal and Provincial Governments as the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board and the Halifax Relief Commission. Though not included in the Schedules to the Financial Administration Act, certain provisions of the Act apply to the Northern Ontario Pipe Line Crown Corporation, set up on June 7, 1956, to overset the building of a cross-country natural gas pipeline. The Canada Council was set up under the Canada Council Act (assented to Mar. 28, 1957) as a Crown corporation but has been declared not an agency of the Crown and hence is not included in the Schedules as a Crown corporation but has been declared not an agency of the Crown and hence is not included in the Schedules to the Financial Administration Act.